Not that that is exactly unusual in this household, where we have only recently and with much difficulty arrived at an agreement that no parts are allowed to throw other parts’ books away, because it led to a ridiculous situation where books were being bought and thrown away and then rebought several times.

But this book represents a shift in the internal landscape lately – or maybe just the beginning of a shift. The buying of it is another action that has rather surprised me, just like the things that were spoken about in therapy did, because I was all mired in depression and hopelessness and paralysis and doom, and yet it seems other parts have made a decision to take on more of a role in the way things go for us. I feel I am  being led by them at the moment. I wait with interest to see what they get up to next.

The book we bought is called Coping with Trauma-related Dissociation: Skills Training for Patients and Therapists. It’s causing quite a stir. But a good stir though, I think. And a stir that is so complex and elaborated and loud that it becomes impossible to avoid awareness of it. Which is also good. Because it keeps bringing me back to the truth: we have DID.

 

